Author Spotlight: Sharon Marchisello

WebsiteFacebookTwitterGoodreadsInstagramBookbubLinkedIn


It’s the middle of the week again, fam. How are you all doing? Not feeling too blue, I hope? Just hang in there, the weekend’s coming! 😘 Anyway, it’s time for us to get to know another author, and today we have mystery and nonfiction author Sharon Marchisello. 🙌

Sharon grew up in Tyler, Texas, and earned her Bachelor of Arts from the University of Houston in French and English. She earned a Master’s in Professional Writing from the University of Southern California and is an active member of Sisters in Crime. Retired from a 27-year career with Delta Air Lines, she now lives in Peachtree City, Georgia, and does volunteer work for the Fayette Humane Society.

She is the author of two mysteries published by Sunbury Press. Going Home (2014) was inspired by her mother’s battle with Alzheimer’s disease, while Secrets of the Galapagos (2019) deals with mayhem on a Galapagos cruise. Besides novels, Sharon has written short stories, travel articles, corporate training manuals, screenplays, and book reviews. Her blog, Countdown to Financial Fitness, and nonfiction book, Live Well, Grow Wealth, deal with personal finance.


Are you indie or traditionally published? What made you decide to take that route?

My two mysteries are traditionally published. I chose that route because I didn’t want to do all the non-writing work that goes with being self-published. Also, there’s still a bit of a stigma (although much less now) about self-published books not being as good as traditionally published.

My nonfiction book about personal finance, Live Well, Grow Wealth, was self-published. I chose that route because the information was time-sensitive, and also, I have no credentials in finance that would impress a publisher. My advice comes from personal experience and common sense, not from a career in finance.

Tell us a fun story about your publication journey!

Fun? More like tedious. Going Home, my “first novel,” was actually the fourth novel I completed. It went through seven drafts and countless rejections over a period of ten years before I finally got a publishing contract. One would think I’d be popping the champagne and shouting for joy, but I didn’t tell hardly anyone I had a publisher until the book came out. I should have been creating a website, building a social media platform, creating buzz, gathering advance reviews and blurbs, etc., but I was afraid I’d jinx it, so I did nothing. Thus, I had to play catch-up from launch date.

Wait—that didn’t sound like much fun. I guess the most fun was seeing my book in print and making my first sale to someone who wasn’t a friend or family member.

How about a horror story about your author life?

Fortunately, I haven’t experienced any real horror stories, especially compared to others who’ve had their editors or agents drop them, their publishing house go bankrupt, etc.

The worse thing that happened to me was when an independent bookseller took some of my books on consignment, then closed up shop without paying me or returning my books.

What do you think is the best thing about being an author?

I love writing and creating a world where I’m in control. But I guess the best thing about being a published author is when readers tell me how much they enjoyed my book.

Who do you think you inspire? If not, who and what do you want to inspire?

With my personal finance book, I strive to inspire young adults to develop a healthy respect for money, and to understand the basic principles of saving and investing.

What keeps you up at night?

Sometimes nothing. And sometimes everything: world events, plot issues, personal problems.

What else do you enjoy doing other than reading and writing?

Travel, although I haven’t done much since the pandemic started. Before 2020, I’d visited over 100 countries and taken 68 cruises. I also volunteer for an animal rescue group, fostering cats, trying to find grant money, and serving on the Board of Directors.

What do you consider as your weakness as a writer, and what have you done to overcome it?

I’m slow; I edit as I go along, and now that I work on a computer hooked up to the internet, I’m easily distracted. I envy people who can turn out a book or more a year.

Who are some of your favorite authors?

That changes constantly, as I discover more authors. I love to read.

Anything else you want to tell your fans, our readers, and the writing/reading/blogging community at large?

Thank you for the opportunity to visit your blog. I’d love it if your readers check out some of my books.

Shattered by a broken engagement and a business venture derailed by Jerome Haddad, her unscrupulous partner, Giovanna Rogers goes on a luxury Galapagos cruise with her grandmother to decompress.

At least that’s what her grandmother thinks. Giovanna is determined to make Jerome pay for what he’s done, and she has a tip he’s headed for the Galapagos.

While snorkeling in Gardner Bay off the coast of Española Island, Giovanna and another cruise passenger, tortoise researcher Laurel Pardo, both become separated from the group and Laurel is left behind. No one on the ship will acknowledge Laurel is missing, and Giovanna suspects a cover-up.

When the police come on board to investigate a death, Giovanna is sure the victim is Laurel. She’s anxious to give her testimony to the attractive local detective assigned to the case. Instead, she learns someone else is dead, and she’s a person of interest.

Resolved to keep searching for Laurel and make sense of her disappearance, Giovanna finds that several people on board the cruise ship have reasons to want Laurel gone. One is a scam involving Tio Armando, the famous Galapagos giant tortoise and a major tourist attraction in the archipelago. And Jerome Haddad has a hand in it. Thinking she’s the cat in this game, Giovanna gets too involved and becomes the mouse, putting her life in jeopardy. But if she doesn’t stop him, Jerome will go on to ruin others.

Genre: Mystery/Suspense
Purchase Links: AmazonSunbury Press


Got a book you’d like me to review or an author you’d like me to feature? Drop me a line! 💕 You can also subscribe to my newsletter for free short stories, special offers, and writing opportunities.

Published by Marie Sinadjan

Filipino author, singer-songwriter and musical theatre actress. Loves writing fantasy short stories and composing songs for books. Also loves coffee, traveling and watching the stars. Married and based in the UK.

19 thoughts on “Author Spotlight: Sharon Marchisello

  1. So nice to see Sharon here, today. Wow, Sharon, you had quite the authors journey to publication. And I’m amazed at all the traveling you’ve done! It’s great to learn more about you. And as someone who loves cats I’m thrilled that you foster!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment